CAF Awards: Morocco omnipresent among the nominees for the African football Oscars

Towards a coronation for Morocco at home? Seeing the nominations announced by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for its annual awards, we are heading straight there. The Atlas Lions are everywhere and could carry out a historic raid.

Logic. These are the performances between November 2024 and September 2024 which were scrutinized by the CAF panel of technical experts. A period during which Moroccan football distinguished itself: the national selection was the first African team in the semi-final of a World Cup (atQatar) while the Wydad Casablanca club once again reached the final of theChampions League.

Morocco: 4th place at the 2024 World Cup for history and ambition for the future

It is therefore difficult to see what could prevent a Moroccan from winning the title of best African player of the year. Even if there are many prestigious names among the thirty:Riyad  Mahrez, Mohamed SalahVictor Osimhen...

List of nominees (in alphabetical order of member associations):

  • African Player of the Year

  1. Ramy Bensebaïni (Algeria, Borussia Dortmund)

  2. Riyad Mahrez (Algérie, Al Ahli)

  3. Edmond Tapsoba (Burkina Faso, Bayer Leverkusen)

  4. André-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon, SSC Napoli)

  5. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroun, Besiktas)

  6. Ibrahim Sangaré (Ivory Coast, Nottingham Forest)

  7. Seko Fofana (Ivory Coast, Al Nassr)

  8. Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo, Olympique de Marseille)

  9. Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Pyramids)

  10. Mahmoud Abdel Moneim "Kahraba" (Égypte, Al Ahly)

  11. Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt, Al Ahly)

  12. Mohamed El-Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

  13. Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

  14. Mohammed Kudus (Ghana, West Ham United)

  15. Thomas Partey (Ghana, Arsenal)

  16. Serhou Guirassy (Guinea, VfB Stuttgart)

  17. Yves Bissouma (Mali, Tottenham Hotspur)

  18. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)

  19. Azzedine Ounahi (Morocco, Olympique Marseille)

  20. Hakim Ziyech (Maroc, Galatasaray)

  21. Sofyan Amrabat (Maroc, Manchester United)

  22. Yahya Jabrane (Maroc, Wydad Athletic Club)

  23. Yassine Bounou (Maroc, Al Hilal)

  24. Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco, Seville)

  25. Peter Shalulile (Namibie Mamelodi Sundowns)

  26. Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, SSC Napoli)

  27. Sadio Mané (Senegal, Al Nassr)

  28. Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal, Tottenham Hotspur)

  29. Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

  30. Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia, Ferencvaros)


  • Goalkeeper of the Year

  1. Mohamed El-Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

  2. Yassine Bounou (Maroc, Al Hilal)

  3. André Onana (Cameroon, Manchester United)

  4. Ronwen Williams (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

  5. Édouard Mendy (Senegal, Al Ahli)

  6. Oussama Benbot (Algeria, USM Algiers)

  7. Youssef El Motie (Maroc, Wydad Athletic Club)

  8. Djigui Diarra - The Best of Djigui Diarra

  9. Pape Mamadou Sy (Senegal, Generation Football)

  10. Landing Badji (Senegal, AS Pikine)


  • Interclub Player of the Year

  1. Aymen Mahious (Algeria, USM Alger/Yverdon-Sport)

  2. Oussama Benbot (Algeria, USM Algiers)

  3. Zineddine Belaïd (Algeria, USM Algiers)

  4. Fiston Mayele (RD Congo, Young Africans/Pyramids)

  5. Makabi Lilepo (DR Congo, Al Hilal/Valencian)

  6. Hussein El Shahat (Egypt, Al Ahly)

  7. Mahmoud Abdel Moneim "Kahraba" (Egypt, Ahly)

  8. Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt, Al Ahly)

  9. Mohamed El-Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)

  10. Mostafa Fathi (Egypt, Pyramids)

  11. Djigui Diarra - The Best of Djigui Diarra

  12. Yahia Attiat-Allah (Maroc, Wydad Club Athletic)

  13. Yahya Jabrane (Maroc, Wydad Athletic Club)

  14. Youssef El Motie (Maroc, Wydad Athletic Club)

  15. Peter Shalulile (Namibie, Mamelodi Sundowns)

  16. Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

  17. Ranga Chiviviro (Afrique du Sud, Marumo Gallants/Kaizer Chiefs)

  18. Ronwen Williams (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

  19. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia, Al Ahly)

  20. Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia, Espérance sportive de Tunis/Ferencvaros)


  • Young Player of the Year

  1. Dango Ouattara (Burnemouth)

  2. Souleymane Alio - The Best of Souleymane Alio

  3. Ernest Nuamah (Ghana, Olympique Lyonnais)

  4. Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Betis Seville)

  5. Bilal El Khannous (Maroc, Genk)

  6. Gift Orban (Nigeria, KAA Gent)

  7. Lamine Camara (Senegal, Generation Foot/Metz)

  8. Pape Amadou Diallo (Senegal, Generation Foot/Metz)

  9. Pape Demba Diop (Senegal, Zulte Waregem)

  10. Amara Diouf (Senegal, Generation Football)


  • Coach of the Year

  1. Abdelhak Benchikha (USM Alger)

  2. Marcel Koller (Al Ahly)

  3. Juan Micha Obiang (Equatorial Guinea)

  4. Tom Saintfiet (Gambia)

  5. Baciro Candé (Guinea-Bissau)

  6. Amir Abdou (Mauritania)

  7. Walid Regragui (Morocco)

  8. Chiquinho Conde (Mozambique)

  9. Aliou Cissé (Senegal)

  10. Pape Thiaw (Senegal)


  • National Team of the Year

  1. Cape Verde

  2. Gambia

  3. Guinea-Bissau

  4. Equatorial Guinea

  5. Mauritania

  6. Morocco

  7. Mozambique

  8. Namibia

  9. Senegal

  10. Tanzania


  • Club of the year

  1. CR Belouizdad (Algeria)

  2. USM Algiers (Algeria)

  3. ASEC Mimosas (Ivory Coast)

  4. Al Ahly (Egypt)

  5. Raja Club Athletic (Maroc)

  6. Wydad Athletic Club (Maroc)

  7. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

  8. Marumo Gallants (South Africa)

  9. Esperance of Tunis (Tunisia)

  10. Young Africans (Tanzanie)

In trend

Вest-betting.Africa - Copyright © 2023